Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

CLLSE

 

During the Coronavirus (COVID-19) the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education continues to remain open via our remote office:  (845) 580-4154. 

School of Education (SOE) offices and support services also continue to be available remotely.

From the Chair, Dr. Janet DeSimone

Janet DeSimoneWelcome to the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Literacy, and Special Education. Our department houses a variety of outstanding and unique graduate degree programs in counselor education, organizational and educational leadership, literacy studies and special education, with each culminating in a master’s degree or an advanced certificate and most leading to New York State Certification.

Our programs integrate practice with theory and are guided by the School of Education's Lehman Urban Teacher, Counselor, Administrator Education (LUTE) conceptual framework. Extensive student teaching and/or field-based experiences are central throughout our programs. Students are expected to develop their skills and capacities as teachers, counselors and/or educational and organizational leaders through both on-campus and work-based experiences, with current practitioners in schools, districts, nonprofits and/or community-based organizations. Our programs also emphasize action research, using data to identify and close educational gaps and require students to apply the knowledge, skills and dispositions acquired throughout their coursework to develop solutions to classroom, school and organizational problems.

Our faculty are committed to excellence in scholarship and teaching and are recognized for their work with Bronx and urban schools, districts nonprofits and other community organizations and strive to provide transformational learning experiences for our graduate students. They are experienced in meeting the needs of adult learners and are dedicated to mentoring, motivating and supporting our graduate students through consistent advisement, engaging instruction, continuous program improvement and career placement.

If you would like to inquire about one of our programs or have a specific concern, complete an inquiry form here.

Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education/General Inquiry
Carmen Garcia, carmen.garcia2@lehman.cuny.edu
Isatou Fofana, isatou.fofana@lehman.cuny.edu


WINTER/SPRING 2021 ADVISEMENT DATES

Fall 2020 Faculty Office Hours
Name Office Hours Contact Methods

Dr. Alyse Anekstein
Graduate Program Counselor Edu/school Counseling

Wednesdays: 4-5 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Alyse.Anekstein@lehman.cuny.edu

https://zoom.us/j/97162791163
Zoom Meeting ID: 971 6279 1163


Dr. Sheila Blachman
Coordinator, Special Edu. Bilingual Graduate Program

Tuesdays: 2-4:30 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Sheila.Blachman@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 860-740-2939

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/6644182038
Zoom Meeting ID: 664 418 2038

Dr. Stuart Chen-Hayes
Coordinator, Counselor Education/School Counseling and Bilingual Extension Graduate Program

Wednesdays: 3-5 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

StuartC@lehman.cuny.edu

Phone: 718-960-7304
Zoom Meeting ID:  817 1360 2781

Dr. Janet R. DeSimone
Department Chair
Coordinator, Organizational Leadership Graduate Program –HYBRID

Tuesdays: 5-7 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Janet.Desimone@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 516-400-6255

Dr. Faith Deveaux
Graduate Program Counseling Education/School Counseling

Monday through Friday, by email or by appointment

Faith.Deveaux@lehman.cuny.edu

Dr. Barbara Gottlieb
Coordinator, Childhood and Adolescent Special education Graduate Program

Wednesdays: 6 -7 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Barbara.Gottlieb@lehman.cuny.edu

http://zoom.us/j/97950594107
Zoom Meeting ID: 979 5059 4107
Passcode: 871844

Dr. Harriet Fayne
Graduate Program Special Education

Tuesdays: 3 -4 p.m. or 5:45-6:45 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Harriet.Fayne@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom Meeting ID: 941 5814 3928

Dr. Julia Hood
Coordinator, Organizational  Leadership Graduate Program-ONLINE

Tuesdays & Thursdays: 3- 8 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment.

Julia.Hood@lehman.cuny.edu

Phone: 845-598-7666

Dr. Danielle Magaldi
Coordinator, Early Childhood Special education, and Advanced Certification in Special Education Graduate Program.

Tuesdays: 2-4 p.m.
(via phone or Zoom) or by appointment

Danielle.Magaldidopman@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice: 845-580-4098

Dr. Faith Muturia
Graduate Program Special Education

Thursdays: 2:30-6:00 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Faith.Muturia@lehman.cuny.edu

https://zoom.us/j/92154395810
Zoom Meeting ID: 921 5439 5810
Passcode: Officehour
Phone:718-960-7305

Dr. Limor Pinhasi-Vittorio
Coordinator, Literacy Studies Graduate program

Mondays: 3:30 - 4:30 p.m.
(via Zoom) or by appointment

Limor.Pinhasi-Vittorio@lehman.cuny.edu

Zoom Meeting ID: 981 8848 2498

Dr. Gaoyin Qian
Graduate Program Literacy studies

Tuesdays: 4 -5 p.m.
Wednesdays: 5:00pm-6:30pm
(by Zoom) or by appointment

Gaoyin.Qian@lehman.cuny.edu

Tuesdays: 4 -5 p.m.
https://zoom.us/j/95955958510
Meeting ID: 959 5595 8510

Wednesdays: 5:00pm-6:30pm
https://zoom.us/j/96420749865
Meeting ID: 964 2074 9865

Dr. Rosa Rivera-McCutchen
Coordinator, Educational Leadership Graduate Program

Mondays: 3:30-4:30 p.m. & Thursdays: 3–5 p.m.
(by phone or Zoom) or by appointment

RRivera@lehman.cuny.edu

Google Voice:  914-996-8244

Dr. Laura Roberts
Deputy Chair
Clinical Coordinator, Counselor Education/School Counseling Graduate Program

Wednesdays: 2 -5 p.m. or by appointment

Laura.Roberts@lehman.cuny.edu

Virtual Office:
https://doxy.me/drlauraaroberts

Dr. Jennifer Van Allen
Graduate Program Literacy Studies

Tuesdays: 3:30 p.m.–5 p.m.
Thursdays: 6 -7:30 p.m.
(via Zoom or phone) or by appointment

Jennifer.Vanallen@lehman.cuny.edu

https://zoom.us/j/7622709156
Zoom Meeting ID: 762 270 9156

Phone: 718-967-7883

School of Education Information

Email/phone office hours are 9:00 am – 5:00 pm unless otherwise noted (lunch hours will vary)

School of Education: Support Services for Student

School of Education: Additional Departments